Buy Now


Brenda Novak’s newest novel INSIDE is a thrill ride. Inspired by Fox’s Prison Break, Ms. Novak has taken the idea to the next level. Virgil Skinner served several years for a murder he didn’t commit, now finally exonerated he is haunted by ties to the prison gang he joined to survive. California Department of Corrections has offered him a way out. It’s a huge risk, and he may lose his life, but it’s worth a chance if he can just stay ahead of the gang members from two different gangs. When he meets Chief Deputy Warden Peyton Adams his world is once again turned on its axis.

Peyton finds herself drawn to Virgil and though she doesn’t want him in her prison undercover the more she gets to know him the more she finds herself falling in love with him. The stakes rise even higher, while she tries to protect him and keep his cover. Once Virgil and Peyton realize their deep feelings for one another they begin to walk an even tighter wire trying to keep ahead of the bad guys.

INSIDE is a brilliant mix of danger, romance and spine chilling thrills. Readers will enjoy the first installment of Ms. Novak’s Bullet Proof Series, and will eagerly await the next installment.

Book Blurb for Inside

Dangerous to know...

Virgil Skinner served fourteen years for a murder he didn’t commit. He’s finally been exonerated, but he can’t escape the gang he joined in order to survive. They’ll do anything to keep him from telling what he knows. And if they can’t get to Virgil they’ll go after his sister and her kids.

The California Department of Corrections needs someone to infiltrate another gang, one that’s taking control of the state’s most notorious supermax. Virgil agrees to do it under an alias—in exchange for his sister’s protection.

Chief Deputy Warden Peyton Adams is opposed to having Virgil in her prison. How will she protect him if things go bad? Besides, she’s far too attracted to him; she might even be falling in love with him. That makes her all the more desperate to keep him safe—and it gives him someone else to lose.

The Bulletproof Series:

Book I: Inside (July 2011)

Book II: In Seconds (September 2011)

Book III: In Close (November 2011)

Night Owl Reviews Jun, 2011 4.25