The Kraken King Part VI: The Kraken King and the Crumbling Walls

Buy Now

The Kraken King Part VI: The Kraken King and the Crumbling Walls

A Novel of the Iron Seas

For whatever reason Meljeam Brook decided to publish The Kraken King in a serial format. Each part is like a miniature thriller and has some major part to the plot in it. It’s like lots of ultimate adventure stories but each builds on the previous part so you need to read all of them in order. While it sounds like this would make this story choppy, it doesn’t. Somehow each part flows into the next and even though each part stops on a cliff hanger, it still feels somewhat complete. Anyway, regardless of the format, I’m loving each part. This story is unique and fun. It’s like the ultimate steampunk and fits well into this series. The world that is built is awesome and very rich and diverse. The characters are just as unique and interesting. You quickly become invested on what is happening with them. I can’t wait until the next part comes out!

Now, there is a bit of a downside. Between each part there is a long excerpt of other books in this series. Of course, if you’ve already read the books, it means skipping lots of pages. However, if you haven’t read them, I guess this might get you to read them. I think the references within this serial will do the same thing though.

Zenobia always wanted an adventure like the characters she writes about but she never expected the adventure she ends up with. She thought flying to Australia with a friend on a French ship would be safe but when it is attacked, Zenobia uses skills she never knew she had to save herself and her friends. However, those skills weren’t enough to keep her from going into the ocean. Saving her is Ariq, otherwise known as the Kracken King. There is instant attraction between the two but overheard words and circumstances are working to keep them apart. Trust has to be built between them though as they start on an adventure that may have long ranging consequences.

Book Blurb for The Kraken King Part VI: The Kraken King and the Crumbling Walls

Experience the incredible adventure and heart-stopping romance of the Iron Seas in this thrilling steampunk tale from New York Times bestselling author Meljean Brook.

The Kraken King, Part VI

The Kraken King and the Crumbling Walls

Reunited, Ariq and Zenobia must journey over the red wall and make a desperate appeal to the one woman with enough power to halt the marauders’ plans—the Empress of Nippon.

But even the Kraken King cannot demand the attentions of an empress. Masked and quarantined, Ariq and Zenobia are forced to bide their time. Despite the fact that they are as physically close as two people can be, Zenobia is trying to keep the man she can’t help but love at a distance, terrified she’ll be hurt again. And all the while, the mysteries of the Living City grow around them…

Includes a bonus excerpt of Meljean Brook’s Riveted.

More to come…Don’t miss The Kraken King, Part VII

Night Owl Reviews Apr, 2014 4.50