Rainy Day Friends

Buy Now

Rainy Day Friends


Heartbreak becomes heartwarming in this terrific story about a woman betrayed and a man done with love. These characters, Lanie and Mark, have reasons why they should fall in love which make sense. You can feel their pain and you can feel their undeniable attraction towards each other. However, this story has more than two characters! Mark has adorable, mischievous twins, an interfering mother and a large noisy family. In addition, all the workers on the family vineyard become family. So, there are lots of characters interacting making this story come alive and has you becoming interested in all of them. There is humor intertwined between the pain. After all, life continues even when your heart is broken. There is also a bit of mystery in this story with the introduction of the character, River. Her secret may cause Lanie even more pain and betrayal. I loved the small town feel of this story and how everyone was one big community. It was also hard to put down this book even though I was sure I knew how it was going to end because I just had to see how Mark, Lanie and even River were going to figure out their lives. Take this book to the beach or save for a rainy day. Either way, you’re going to love this story.

How many wives did one husband need? Lanie thought she was enough for her husband but after his death, wives seemed to keep showing up. She just had to get away. She couldn’t deal with this. A temporary job at a winery seems perfect. Lanie didn’t expect to find a large Italian family who makes everyone feel welcome and part of the family. Her eye is drawn to Mark, the only son and the only one that doesn’t work at the winery. Mark is a deputy sheriff and has his own heartache. His wife ran off leaving him to raise his twin girls. He has no use for women except those in his family and those he uses occasionally for physical urges. So why does Lanie interest him? He knows that she’s not one for a short affair.

Book Blurb for Rainy Day Friends

First Time Available!

Following the USA Today bestselling author of Lost and Found Sisters comes Jill Shalvis' moving story of heart, loss, betrayal, and friendship.

Six months after Lanie Jacobs’ husband’s death, it’s hard to imagine anything could deepen her sense of pain and loss. But then Lanie discovers she isn’t the only one grieving his sudden passing. A serial adulterer, he left behind several other women who, like Lanie, each believe she was his legally wedded wife. 

Rocked by the infidelity, Lanie is left to grapple with searing questions. How could she be so wrong about a man she thought she knew better than anyone? Will she ever be able to trust another person?  Can she even trust herself?

Desperate to make a fresh start, Lanie impulsively takes a job at the family-run Capriotti Winery. At first, she feels like an outsider among the boisterous Capriottis. With no real family of her own, she’s bewildered by how quickly they all take her under their wing and make her feel like she belongs. Especially Mark Capriotti, a gruffly handsome Air Force veteran turned deputy sheriff who manages to wind his way into Lanie’s cold, broken heart—along with the rest of the clan.

Everything is finally going well for her, but the arrival of River Brown changes all that. The fresh-faced twenty-one-year old seems as sweet as they come…until her dark secrets come to light—secrets that could destroy the new life Lanie’s only just begun to build.

Night Owl Reviews May, 2018 4.50