Amelia Bedelia on the Job

Buy Now

Amelia Bedelia on the Job

Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #9

Amelia Bedelia’s class is learning about jobs in this funny book about a girl who looks at life a bit differently than anyone else. Amelia Bedelia is sure her father is a coach as he uses words like slam dunk and slides. And a friend is sure his father is a janitor as he is always cleaning up other people’s messes. And Amelia Bedelia wonders why it takes 40 people to work at a plant. There are only so many weeds that can be picked and surely it doesn’t take 40 people! Soon the class is getting extra homework learning about what their parents do and slang. Broken up into chapters, this book is great for the early reader. The humor with have them laughing and the easy to read words will allow them to explore the concepts in this book by themselves. Not only will children learn what slang is and some common words and phrases used but they will learn what is a plant, a mill and a factory as well as what it means to think outside the box. I found this book not only fun but educational. I can truly see second and third graders thoroughly enjoying this story. But, that doesn’t mean that other children or even adults won’t appreciate the humor in Amelia Bedelia’s adventures.


Book Blurb for Amelia Bedelia on the Job

In the ninth chapter book in the New York Times–bestselling series, Amelia Bedelia and her friends at school explore different jobs and careers and think about what they want to be when they grow up! Amelia Bedelia is especially curious about her own father’s line of work. If he spends the day pitching to a client, does that mean he plays a lot of baseball?

The Amelia Bedelia chapter books star Amelia Bedelia as a young girl and feature funny family and friendship stories just right for fans of Judy Moody and Ivy + Bean. The Amelia Bedelia books have sold more than 35 million copies since we first met the iconic character in 1963!


Night Owl Reviews Apr, 2016 4.50