A Conspiracy of Kings

Buy Now

A Conspiracy of Kings

Thief of Eddis, #4

"A Conspiracy of Kings" is the 4th book in Megan Whalen Turner's remarkable fantasy series. Unlike previous 3 novels which were written primarily about Eugenides, this book is most and foremost Sophos's story. Sophos is the heir to the throne of the kingdom of Sounis and Eugenide's friend. I will not give anything away by saying that "A Conspiracy of Kings" is a story about his ascend to the throne. Of course, the road to power is hard and full of obstacles. Sophos is kidnapped and enslaved during the course of this novel, but rises to the occasion when his country needs him. His dear friend Eugenides is there to help.

"A Conspiracy of Kings" is absolutely on par with Turner's previous books - "The Thief," "The Queen of Attolia," and "The King of Attolia." Although some might find the switch of focus of this series from Eugenides to Sophos disconcerting, the majority will enjoy the book because of its customarily outstanding writing, skillful world-building and intricate political intrigues. And Sophos proves himself a charming narrator. He is very unlike Eugenides and his insecurities and humbleness make his road to power so much more compelling. Romance lovers will have something to be happy about too. Turner offers another complex and never easy love story here.

This novel is an excellent addition to "The Queen's Thief" series and a must read for all Megan Whalen Turner fans.

Book Blurb for A Conspiracy of Kings

Sophos, heir to the throne of Sounis, has disappeared without a trace. Eugenides, the new and unlikely king of Attolia, has never stopped wondering what happened to his friend. Nor has the Queen of Eddis, who once offered Sophos her hand. They send spies. They pay informants. They appeal to the gods. But as time goes by, it becomes less and less certain that they will ever see their friend alive again.

Battles are fought, bribes are offered, and conspiracies are set in motion. Across the sea, a ruthless empire watches for even the slightest weakness. And Sophos, anonymous and alone, bides his time. Until, drawing on his memories of Gen, Pol, the magus—and Eddis—Sophos sets out on an adventure that will change all of their lives forever.

The series, in order:
The Thief
The Queen of Attolia
The King of Attolia
A Conspiracy of Kings

Night Owl Reviews Sep, 2011 5.00