Third Degree

Buy Now

Third Degree

Isabel Jenkins has spent her whole life on the outside looking in. A child prodigy, she graduated medical school and became a surgical intern before the age of eighteen. But she’s just failed the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program. Now, she’s trying to get the “normal” social experience by re-enrolling as a college freshman.

All doesn’t go as planned, though – she can’t turn off the genius part of her brain, and she manages to alienate her roommate on day 1. The only good thing about school is getting to know her gorgeous RA Marshall Collins – but she soon starts wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship, something that may not be possible, thanks to secrets that Marshall is hiding.

I really loved Isabel and her nerdy/genius self. She’s socially awkward and probably has a touch of Asperger’s – but she is also adorable and loveable. It’s no wonder that Marshall falls for her. He’s sweet, dreamy and the perfect guy.

The success of the story really hinges on the appealing lead characters and their romance. The story set-up itself is a little unbelievable at times, but if you can suspend disbelief, it’s an enjoyable ride. The plot does lose steam in the last act when fairly predictable obstacles appear to drive a wedge between the lovers.

What’s refreshing here is reading a New Adult romance with two quirky, interesting leads but not ones who are plagued with deep, dark tragedies. That’s not to say there are not serious issues in their lives – but overall, the story feels light-hearted and a breath of fresh air.


Book Blurb for Third Degree

Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.


Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2014 4.00