These Shallow Graves

THESE SHALLOW GRAVES by Jennifer Donnelly is shrouded in mystery and deception. If you think you know what's happening, you're very wrong.

Jo Montfort comes from a privileged, upper class family. She enjoys writing interesting stories like Nellie Bly, and wants to be able to do that out in the world, but with her status comes her responsibility to marry. Set during the late 1800's Jo doesn't have very much choice or say in her own life. But when her father dies under mysterious circumstances it is up to Jo to uncover the truth.

Donnelly sets up a wonderfully vibrant world in THESE SHALLOW GRAVES. Each character and setting is complete in its description and the way it works in the novel. While some of the plot was predictable the pacing was well done, it doesn't feel like you're reading a very long book even though you are. While I liked the characters and the setting, there really wasn't much that got me excited. I continued because the story was well done but not necessarily because I was interested in how it would end.

I recommend this for fans of YA historical fiction.


Book Blurb for These Shallow Graves

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.

Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.

Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.

The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.

The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.


Night Owl Reviews Feb, 2016 3.50