Burn for Me

Buy Now

Burn for Me

Hidden Legacy, #1

Don't let the fact that this is advertised as a romance novel fool you. Romance is not at the forefront of the novel, but it does take up some space. I am a huge fan of the author team of Ilona Andrews, and I devour everything they produce. This was no different. However, the beginning is a bit slow, but that is because it is full of world building.

Andrews knows how to create a world that is entirely unique, unlike anything I've read before. There is magic, mayhem, steam, suspense, wit, and intriguing characters. Readers get the full package. So why did this novel get a 4.5 out of 5?

While the story captures you eventually, the world building is slow. By going into this believing it would be more romance than urban fantasy/paranormal I was expecting more to happen between the hero and the heroine. I was wrong. This is definitely urban fantasy with a slight inclination towards romance. While most urban fantasy is all about the hero/heroine and the issue at hand (mystery to solve, item to find, person to save), Burn For Me has all of that, but it also wants to bring the main couple together.

Connor "Mad" Rogan is broody, and intense, the perfect set up in a paranormal romance. He is a Prime, a very strong magic user, the only one left in his family. He is dangerous. Everyone is afraid of him, and no one can handle his power, not even the military.

Nevada Baylor is the complete opposite of Mad Rogan. She is generous, kind, and all about her family. Her family business is owned by a larger company, and when Adam Pierce's family wants him captured the Montgomery House turns to Nevada. They have her in a tight spot by threatening her family's wellbeing, so she has no other choice but to go after Adam Pierce. He is almost as dangerous as Mad Rogan.

Overall, it is an intense read that is hard to put down once you're hooked. It is perfect for fans of Ilona Andrew's work, or the urban fantasy genre.


Book Blurb for Burn for Me

#1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews launches a brand new Hidden Legacy series, in which one woman must place her trust in a seductive, dangerous man who sets off an even more dangerous desire…

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career-a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan-a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.


Night Owl Reviews Dec, 2014 4.50