The Body Finder

Buy Now

The Body Finder

Body Finder, #1

Violet has a unique "gift" - she can sense dead bodies, and the imprints they leave behind on the people who killed them. One day while out with her father in the woods, she finds an echo of a dead body that seems different to her. As eight-year-old Violet follows the trail, she finds a spot and starts to dig in the ground with her hands. Her father and her quickly find a dead girl that has been buried. The book jumps to Violet as a high-school junior, trying to deal with her new feelings for her long-time friend, Jay. While at a lake party celebrating the start of school, Jay and Violet go out on a waverunner. Violet feels the echoes that always lead to a dead body. The two of them find a freshly killed and dumped teenage girl. After a second girl goes missing, Violet joins the search hoping her gift won't be used but she is sadly disappointed. On the search, Violet senses not only the dead girl but also the killer. Violet must use her gift to find the dead girls and the killer before he finds her.

YOU HAVE GOT TO READ THIS BOOK!!!! I picked-up the book up and wasn't able to put it down. The Body Finder was one of the most suspenseful books I've read. The twist at the end was unexpected and made the story even more exciting. Fans of R.L. Stein and Lois Duncan thrillers will be glad to discover Kimberly Derting. This will leave you looking over your shoulder and jumping at every little sound. I don't recommend reading this late at night if you plan on sleeping. I was sad when the book ended knowing that I have to wait for her next book.


Book Blurb for The Body Finder

Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her morbid secret ability. While the sixteen-year-old is confused by her new feelings for her best friend since childhood, she is more disturbed by her "power" to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered. Since she was a little girl, she has felt the echoes the dead leave behind in the world . . . and the imprints that attach to their killers.

Violet has never considered her strange talent to be a gift; it mostly just led her to find dead birds her cat left for her. But now that a serial killer is terrorizing her small town, and the echoes of the local girls he's claimed haunt her daily, Violet realizes she might be the only person who can stop him.

Despite his fierce protectiveness over her, Jay reluctantly agrees to help Violet find the murderer—and Violet is unnerved by her hope that Jay's intentions are much more than friendly. But even as she's falling intensely in love, Violet is getting closer and closer to discovering a killer . . . and becoming his prey herself.


Night Owl Reviews Aug, 2010 5.00