Steel

Buy Now

Steel

Jill has just found part of an old rusty sword on a beach. As she has fenced in many competitions, it holds a special meaning for her. But this sword holds a special power and Jill is transported back in time to the deck of a pirate ship. Jill must learn to fight with a real sword and what it means to be a pirate. Can Jill survive and hold her own when she goes up against a fierce pirate captain or will he get the best of her before she can find her way back home?

This was a fantastic read. I loved how it featured a girl holding her own against the ultra-macho world of pirates and how it introduced female pirates. "Steel" was interesting because of how Jill had to deal with learning to live in the past while trying to get back to the present. This book will appeal to fans of L.A. Meyer's Bloody Jack series, Pirates of the Caribbean, or anyone needing a good pirate fix.


Book Blurb for Steel

It was a slender length of rusted steel, tapered to a point at one end and jagged at the other, as if it had broken. A thousand people would step over it and think it trash, but not her.

This was the tip of a rapier.

Sixteen-year-old Jill has fought in dozens of fencing tournaments, but she has never held a sharpened blade. When she finds a corroded sword piece on a Caribbean beach, she is instantly intrigued and pockets it as her own personal treasure.

The broken tip holds secrets, though, and it transports Jill through time to the deck of a pirate ship. Stranded in the past and surrounded by strangers, she is forced to sign on as crew. But a pirate's life is bloody and brief, and as Jill learns about the dark magic that brought her there, she forms a desperate scheme to get home—one that risks everything in a duel to the death with a villainous pirate captain.

Time travel, swordplay, and romance combine in an original high-seas adventure from New York Times bestseller Carrie Vaughn.


Night Owl Reviews Jun, 2011 4.75