Death Before Decaf

A Java Jive Mystery, #1

Caroline Fardig brews up a fabulous cozy mystery with this coffeehouse suspense story. Juliet Langley is a fantastic heroine and I'm not just saying that as a fellow redhead with an attitude. I like that she isn't perfect that her life has had some major obstacles but instead of drowning in self-pity she has decided to start over even if it means dealing with college students which she claims to dislike. However I'm not so sure I believe her as with every interaction she seems to enjoy herself, or maybe that was just me as the reader. I loved the setting -- the quaint coffee shop comes to life and I can easily picture myself hanging out there and relaxing with the other quirky regulars. Grandma is my absolute favorite character I've met in a while. I can only hope to be a quarter feisty as she is when I reach her advanced years. The mystery has just enough twists and turns and a bit of maliciousness to keep me swiftly turning the pages and when combined with some laugh out loud moments it makes for a real treat. I definitely didn't need caffeine to keep awake to read this funny suspense.

Juliet Langley has returned to her old college stomping grounds and is determined to take over the management of her best friend's coffeehouse and make it the success she knows it to be. Her first challenge is her reluctant and standoffish crew. She never planned on getting into not one but two arguments with the head cook on her first day or finding his body in the dumpster and becoming the number one suspect. Now she's got to find the killer before becoming the next victim.


Book Blurb for Death Before Decaf

Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Diane Mott Davidson, Caroline Fardig’s captivating new mystery novel takes readers behind the counter of a seemingly run-of-the-mill coffeehouse . . . where murder is brewing.

After her music career crashes and burns spectacularly, Juliet Langley is forced to turn to the only other business she knows: food service. Unfortunately, bad luck strikes yet again when her two-timing fiancé robs her blind and runs off with her best waitress. Flushing what’s left of her beloved café down the toilet with her failed engagement, Juliet packs up and moves back to her college stomping grounds in Nashville to manage an old friend’s coffeehouse. At first glance, it seems as though nothing’s changed at Java Jive. What could possibly go wrong? Only that the place is hemorrhaging money, the staff is in open revolt, and Juliet finds one unlucky employee dead in the dumpster out back before her first day is even over.

The corpse just so happens to belong to the cook who’d locked horns with Juliet over the finer points of the health code. Unimpressed with her management style, the other disgruntled employees are only too eager to spill the beans about her fiery temper to the detective on the case. Add to the mix a hunky stranger who’s asking way too many questions, and suddenly Juliet finds herself in some very hot water. If she can’t simmer down and sleuth her way to the real killer, she’s going to get burned.


Night Owl Reviews Nov, 2015 4.00