The Colossus Rises

Seven Wonders, #1

"Seven Wonders The Colossus Rises" is an epic adventurous tale that spans many countries and continents. "The Select"'are a group kids that hold the secrets to finding The Seven Wonders of the world, but there is a time limit you see. Because of a special gene inside their DNA they are destined to die at the young age of 14. I found all four of these young kids to be incredibly mature and inspiring. Jack, Aly, Cass and Marco each have a role to play in finding the Loculi or objects that together hold the power to build and destroy a kingdom in one fell swoop.

I went into this book with no idea of what to expect. Never would I have been able to imagine how amazing The Colossus Rises is. It's got adventure, magic, creepy beasts, and characters you will love, and love to hate. One aspect I loved the most was that it included pictures of the puzzles the kids were solving. this really made the adventure feel more real and relatable to me. Heck some of the puzzles I couldn't figure out. Though the story was quickly paced there were a few points in the bringing of the book that I would have liked to develop a bit faster. For a middle grade book the story deals with some rather strong themes, so I would suggest this book to older kids in the 12-14 range.

Having read this book within a couple of days I was able to experience it to its fullest and I am very, very excited to read the next installment in this series of seven books. Lost in Babylon is set to release in the Fall of 2013. This book has been compared to the Percy Jackson series and I would recommend it to anyone, especially kids who love a book with adventure and characters dealing with real and magical moments.

Jack McKinley, a kid with a normal life and a not so normal future. He is one of "The Select", destined to find seven Loculi that have the power to save his life and the lives of his friends.

The problem, they haven't been seen in over a thousand years. Only by finding the Seven Wonders of the ancient world will he be able to locate the the key to his survival. But "The Select" aren't the only ones looking for these lost idols, another unknown group are out there, and they will do anything to keep Jack and his friends from finding all seven Loculi. Only time will tell which group will succeed.

Book Blurb for The Colossus Rises

Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! The Colossus Rises is the first book in a seven-book series. This first installment chronicles the story of Jack McKinley, an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he’s going to die—unless he finds seven magic Loculi that have been hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

Age Range: 8 - 12 years / Grade Level: 3 - 7

Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2013 4.50