Kitty's Greatest Hits

Kitty's Greatest Hits is a collection of short stories from the Kitty Norville world. Some are from between book and others are closer looks into our favorite characters, and not so favorite.

"II Est Ne"

Story is about David, after meeting kitty in a waffle house on Christmas. She recognizes what he is and tries to help him. He is newly turned and cannot control his changes. When reports of some deadly attacks are on the news, David doesn't know if he is the one the police are looking for.

"A Princess of Spain"

Set in the early 1500's in England. This story finds Catherine of Aragon's marriage to Prince Arthur. Unable complete their marriage due to an "illness" however we find out that a vampire has taken him for her own scheme.

"Conquistador De La Noche"

This story tells of Rick the vampire and how he became a vampire. He was turned against his will by a close friend.

"The Book of Daniel"

Daniel is a lion-shifter and advisor to the Persian King. Very wise Daniel is often a target for other advisors. Coming up with a plan to get rid of him, the others toss him into the Lion Pit. But they don't get the results they want.

"The Temptation of Robin Green"

Ron is a Lieutenant in the military and works for the Centers for the study of Paranormal Biology. The story centers around his dealing with a Selkie and a surprise visit from Rick.

"Looking After Family"

This story tells of Cormac and Ben and how they grew up and how Ben found out what Comac hunts for.

"Gods Creatures"

This is about Cormac and tells of a job he does for a rancher. We get to see him realize that there may be more to werewolves then just them being monsters.

"Wild Ride"

Wild Ride tells the short story of T.J. Kitty's friend from Kitty and the Midnight Hour. It tells how he became a werewolf.

"Winnowing the Herd"

This story tells focuses on a staff party and snacking on a co-worker.

"Kitty and the Mosh Pitt of the Damned"

This takes place after Kitty's show starts. She investigates a band whose music may have a more sinister tone.

"Kitty's Zombie New Year"

Kitty is celebrating at a new year's party with her radio crew when a girl crashes the party. The girl is not quite human.

"Life is a Teacher"

Emma, From Kitty goes to Washington, tells of how she struggles to take blood from a human. Also about having to deal with what she is and the rising monster within her.

"You're on the Air"

Remember Jake from Kitty and the Silver Bullet? This is his story. We get to see what happens when he hangs up from talking to Kitty on air.

"Long Time Waiting"

This shows what happens to Cormac while in prison and how he is investigating a demon.

Over all I thought Kitty's Greatest Hits was everything I was waiting for and I loved it. If you have not read a Carrie Vaughn book, please go out and do so. You will fall in love with Kitty and all of her friends!!!

Book Blurb for Kitty's Greatest Hits

The first-ever story collection from the New York Times bestselling author, including two all-new works!

Kitty Norville, star of a New York Times bestselling series, is everybody’s favorite werewolf DJ and out-of-the-closet supernatural creature. Over the course of eight books she’s fought evil vampires, were-creatures, and some serious black magic. She’s done it all with a sharp wit and the help of a memorable cast of werewolf hunters, psychics, and if-notgood- then-neutral vampires by her side. Kitty’s Greatest Hits not only gives readers some of Kitty’s further adventures, it offers longtime fans a window into the origins of some of their favorite characters.

In “Conquistador de la Noche,” we learn the origin story of Denver’s Master vampire, Rick; with “Wild Ride,” we find out how Kitty’s friend T.J. became a werewolf; and in “Life is the Teacher,” we revisit Emma, the human-turned-unwilling-vampire who serves the aloof vampire Master of Washington, D.C.

This entertaining collection includes two brand-new works: “You’re On the Air,” about one of Kitty’s callers after he hangs up the phone; and the eagerly awaited “Long Time Waiting,” the novella that finally reveals just what happened to Cormac in prison, something every Kitty fan wants to know.

Night Owl Reviews Oct, 2011 4.75