An Affair to Dismember

The Matchmaker Series, #1

I completely fell in love with this book. It absolutely sucked me into it from the very first page. I became so interested how the female characters meshed together and how the male characters acted around each other. All of the interaction between the characters was greatly written together. The book was completely entertaining and wonderfully written. I am so glad I had the opportunity to read book and cannot wait for the next one.

A bit about the story: Gladie moved back to her grandmothers after a long line of unsuccessful jobs. Her grandmother is the town matchmaker and Gladie hopes to be a part of the family business. She also feels needed because her grandmother doesn’t leave her house and Gladie does all of the errands that she needs. While Gladie tries to learn the family business a murder happens in her quiet little hometown. She decides to try her handy work at crime solving instead of matchmaking to see if she is any better at it. Little did she know she has a knack for both.

Spencer is the new police chief in town. He was transferred from a big city and has fallen in love with the small town. The reason is because there is very little to no crime. That is until a murder happens. He then finds himself in the middle of an investigation that always seems to have Gladie in the middle of it. He just hopes that he can find the murderer before Gladie is the next victim.

Holden is Gladie’s mysterious next door neighbor. He recently moved to town. No one knows where he is from or what he does for a living. He mostly keeps to himself, except for when it comes to Gladie. He always seems to be there when she needs him. He has become a white knight for her. The only issue is that Holden doesn’t like talking about himself and why he moved. He is definitely a complete mystery.

Throughout the whole book Gladie has tried to find her place in the town. She has never convinced herself that she is capable of doing the family business of being a matchmaker. Since there was a murder in town she decided to try her hand at crime solving. The only problem is that she is always where the murders or incidents are.

Gladie doesn’t listen to Spencer when he tells her to stop asking questions or she will wind up dead. Holden is always there to save her from danger or he is there right after to make sure she gets help. It always seems as if she cannot decide between the two. She is more concerned in solving the murder then her love life. This is stranger, but normal for Gladie.


Book Blurb for An Affair to Dismember

Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place: She’s always been a temp agency kind of girl, ever ready to move on. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. Gladie is also highly unqualified: Her beloved grandmother’s business is matchmaking, and Gladie has a terrible track record with romance. Still, despite evidence to the contrary, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2013 4.50