The Dream Lover

Buy Now

The Dream Lover

Elizabeth Berg's "The Dream Lover" is a rare jewel of historical fiction that brought new life to the story of a courageous woman and her survival in a man's world. Without a doubt, this book was one of my more anticipated reads of the new year. I found Berg's writing to be inspiring as I have always been interested in the life of George Sand and there is a great deal to both love and admire about this book.

I have been greatly enjoying novels that focus on the bravery of women and this story was no exception. It is beautiful, daring and alluring. The passion is so alive within this book, as is the will of determination, and I couldn't help but fall for this story. It is beyond brilliant and I can offer it only the highest of all praises.

Berg is bold in her writing as she tackles topics that most authors would stay away from and by doing so, separates herself from the industry and this is one of the many reasons that I have come to favor this author.

Whether or not you are familiar with the reality of George Sand, writer and wearer of man's clothing, it matters little. Berg writes an impressive tale that will fill in any gaps that you, as a fellow reader, may have, or the information that you perhaps lack. This story is one of the greatest masterpieces to be published in the modern world, and I have no complaints about this book nor its author.

In the end, Berg is an author I will continue to treasure and enjoy. Should you pick up this novel, and I encourage you to do so, you will discover for yourself a rare talent that is worth applauding.


Book Blurb for The Dream Lover

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.

At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family’s estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name—George Sand—and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.

Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frédéric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reach—a dream?

Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.


Night Owl Reviews Apr, 2015 4.50