On Sunset Beach

Buy Now

On Sunset Beach

Chesapeake Diaries #8

On Sunset Beach seemed like an ideal summer read when I picked it up. For the most part it wasn't too bad of a read even if I wouldn't necessarily count it as being one of my favorites.

The novel flowed easy enough from start to end. The writing style of the author was refreshing and the cover was nearly perfect. However, I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would because of the heroine, Carly. Carly has an unusually high standing of herself. Her ego is very large. I found this to be rather odd as I have never encountered an author that was willing to create a heroine with this type of personality. Usually it’s the hero with this problem.

As for the hero himself, Ford, I have a lot of respect for his character. There was nothing that I did not like about Ford and I found myself liking him the more I read of this novel. I can't help but to think that he and Carly were far from being the perfect match that the author created. Opposites may attract one another but this is one match that just seemed more imaginative than realistic.

Most of the novel focused too much on what Carly wanted rather than what she and Ford could have accomplished in a more traditional romance novel. I think that Carly's behavior overshadowed Ford's and I was little disappointed about how willingly he was to think that he had absolutely had to have Carly. At times the potential romance was almost overwhelming and didn't fit the novel itself.

The novel has its moments that I truly enjoyed but there was not enough balance between the good and the bad for me to offer this novel too much praise. As a reader Ford made this novel worth reading. I suggest only those readers who are willing to keep an open mind and understand pick this read. The romance is not one that is commonly seen. Perhaps this book will appeal to the readers with different expectations. I just didn't work for me.


Book Blurb for On Sunset Beach

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a captivating and heartwarming new novel in her beloved Chesapeake Diaries contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Barbara Freethy, Robyn Carr, and Susan Mallery.

Carly Summit’s name couldn’t be more fitting, since in life she always lands on top. She grew up wealthy and privileged in a tony Connecticut town, opened her own gallery in New York City, and is about to make art world history displaying previously unknown works by a prominent twentieth-century painter. No wonder she possesses a can-do attitude that can’t be soured. Ford Sinclair is another story. A military career in war-torn Africa, where he witnessed unspeakable violence and suffering, has left him haunted and deeply cynical. Now he’s looking for a way to forget and a place to belong. He hopes to find both back home in St. Dennis.

When Carly is forced to move the premiere of her new exhibition from Manhattan to St. Dennis, and Ford agrees to take charge of the town’s only newspaper, the two cross paths. But it’s hardly the start of a beautiful friendship. While Ford can’t ignore her charms, Carly’s unflappable good cheer only confounds him. Yet beneath Ford’s stormy brooding, Carly sees a man worth caring about—even if her warmest ways can’t thaw his frozen heart.


Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2014 3.50