Highland Heat

Buy Now

Highland Heat

A Highland Knights Novel

Whenever I desire a rugged, authentic romance story that I am likely to fall in love with I reach for a novel penned by this author. As a writer, this author has more than earned a spot within my top, three most sought-after storytellers as I have enjoyed the contemporary tales as well as the historical-romance stories. Yet, I do believe that this author's strongest writings are that of historical-romance such as what I found in Highland Heat.

When I was introduced to the series I was skeptical that I would find it likable. My reasoning consisted of the fact that I had just finished the author's previous series, House of Trent, book three and I loved those stories. I basically didn't accept the first book within Haymore's Highland Knights at first. I needed time to warm up to the new series and since I have I find it only fair to say that Highland Heat is one of the better romances of this year.

If there is one thing that I love the most about Haymore (outside of her descriptive words) it would have to be that every single time the author delivers the romance. Yes, the romance. Beautiful, heart-leaping, sinful delights of romance. This is exactly what I want out of authors who choose to pen romance, is simply present the readers with the romance, period. If you want a dedicated author who never misses with romance than Haymore is your author.

Of course I won't overlook the plot within this review. The plot was far better in this book than in the previous book. The romance and attraction between the characters clicked immediately. I enjoy heroes such as Duncan who is willing to go way beyond his standards to both protect and love the woman that has captured his heart.

I honestly cannot say enough good things about this book. I can only suggest that you read this book. If you read any historical-romance this year make it Highland Knights.


Book Blurb for Highland Heat

Perfect for readers of Maya Banks, Monica McCarty, and Sabrina Jeffries, Jennifer Haymore’s seductive Highland Knights series heats up with an electrifying tale of class warfare, fierce loyalties, and forbidden love.

With blood still drying on the front lines at Waterloo, Lady Grace Carrington helps an injured soldier to a British medical tent. Though she believes she’s pulled him to safety, in fact she has put them both in grave danger: Because when his brilliant blue eyes meet hers, the passionate Scottish sergeant kisses her in a way that leaves her breathless and trembling. As the obedient daughter of an earl, Grace shouldn’t be tempted by someone so far below her station. But as a red-blooded woman, she longs for so much more.

As far as Duncan Mackenzie is concerned, getting stabbed in the arm was the best thing that ever happened to him. When he wakes on the battlefield, the sight of Grace’s lovely face sets his soul aflame. As an enlisted man and a farmer’s son, however, pursuing his guardian angel means facing the wrath of London society, not to mention his own superiors in the British Army. Aye, but he’d risk all that and more just to keep her in his arms.


Night Owl Reviews Nov, 2015 4.50