Buy Now


Nine Kingdoms 2

I read through this book in one sitting, then stayed up late to re-read the previous books in this world to catch all the hints and started cursing Lynn Kurland.

In a good way of course.

I'm just devastated that the next book won't be out for ages. 

Note, this is the second book in a series and it's the fifth book set in this world. As usual, Lynn Kurland's books can mostly be read alone because she's really good at tying together detail and backstory in such an unobstrusive way while the plot unfolds -- but you'll really want to read the previous few books to get a clearer idea of what is going on and to fully appreciate the story. Start with "Star of the Morning", which may be Morghain's book, but you won't regret it since that series is mostly done and Morghain is just as, if not a more charismatic heroine than Sarah and of course Miach is to die for.

Which brings me to an observation: Ruith and Sarah are quieter main characters. I was about to say muted, but that's not quite accurate. Ruith and Sarah's story is somehow a little softer, a little less urgent, and worldbuilding and romance building continues apace with breathtaking sincerity. This story does overlap the timeline of the previous series, which is an interesting conceit as you then get to see a different portion of the world, where things just as important are going on. I love how Morghain and Miach manages to save part of the world, but not the entire world and so there's plenty of day-saving left over for everyone else.

Lynn Kurland's characters, as usual, are kick-ass without losing the ability to cry -- especially the menfolk, and her stories are a work of art. Pick this one up. You won't regret it. And then I'll have someone else who is waiting on tenterhooks for the last book in this particular series to come.

Book Blurb for Spellweaver

The New York Times bestselling author returns to the Nine Kingdoms for another spellbinding story of magical romance.

Ruith had long managed to ignore the magic in his veins, until aiding Sarah with her ill-fated quest forced him into places where his heritage was impossible to deny. Faced with an ever-increasing number of enemies who covet his power, Ruith must accept his birthright and gather his father's spells together so he can destroy them-or turn away and allow his father's evil to overcome the Nine Kingdoms.

Now, Ruith and Sarah must rely on each other more than ever-for everything they value is at risk: the Nine Kingdoms, their lives...and their hearts.

Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2011 4.75