Fanning the Flames

Buy Now

Fanning the Flames

Going Down in Flames

Note: I haven't read the previous books in this series, so this review will definitely reflect that and readers who have read the previous books should take what I say with a grain of salt.

I found it difficult to get into the story. I wasn't sure what age the characters were and so had a hard time judging whether things were reasonable or not. Bryn really disappointed me. For someone who seems aware of the many issues with the system she's in, it seems like she's caving really fast and without really thinking about her options. Especially given her background with her parents, it felt like she was selling out. When I read the blurb, I thought that Bryn and Valmont would be surmounting the problems, that they would be fighting together to find a way out of the morass, and that maybe the grandparents would turn out to be decent people in the end. No such luck.

The way the book ended was a complete disappointment and I really hated everyone involved for being spineless and jerks to each other. The only people I found that I still liked at the end were Clint and Ivy, which was a problem.

Another note for the readers who usually read this author's romances and think that things will work out: this isn't classified as romance, apparently, so keep that in mind. This is definitely more along the lines of what is usually categorized as urban fantasy, so expect lots of gritty darkness, gore, and possibly not the HEA you were looking for.

Book Blurb for Fanning the Flames

Bryn McKenna has it all, including her smoking-hot knight turned live-in boyfriend, Valmont. Even though she’s a hybrid dragon, she’s finally fitting into the new shape-shifting dragon world that’s become her own. But her grandparents want to ruin everything by making Bryn’s nightmare of an arranged marriage to Jaxon Westgate a reality. It doesn’t help that Jaxon’s father is on a witch hunt for Rebel sympathizers and Bryn finds herself in his line of fire.

If she doesn’t say, “ I do,” she’ll lose everything. Good-bye flying. Good-bye best friends. Good-bye magic. But if she bends to her grandparents’ will and agrees to marry Jaxon, she’ll lose the love of her life—her knight.

The Going Down in Flames series is best enjoyed in order

Reading Order:

Book #1 - Going Down in Flames

Book #2 - Bridges Burned

Book #3 - Trial by Fire

Book #4 - Fanning the Flames

Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2017 3.00