The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Volume 1

The Twenty-Sided Sorceress, #1

This is the nerdster book of all time! Talk about being nerdy! If you love paranormal romance/action/adventure, this book is up your alley. The plot is complex, the action is fast-paced at times, many references to: comics, Star Wars, D&D, etc. So, if you don't know your basics, brush up and have some fun. However, if you don't want to brush up, you don't have to as she uses plain English to explain her references. Ms. Bellet's writing style is simple within many layers and levels of understanding, so even a non-nerdster will be able to comprehend this volume of four stories.

Jade Crow is a sorceress in hiding. She owns a city block of buildings though many are unaware of her landlord status. Currently she owns a bookstore within the block where people gather for comics, anime, minis, and tons of D&D or Magic: The Gathering occurs. One day a man walks in and claims she's a murderess (not true). When he realizes she is not, he and she start to exchange notes on being a shifter (his is a tiger) and her being a sorceress (which no one in town knows). Together, along with her family of friends, they discover and fight evil touching the lives of shifters, humans, and others.

There are many people Jade helps along the way as she tries not to use magic at first (her ex-boyfriend is a psycho sorcerer out to kill and eat her heart) for fear her ex will kill her third family like he did her second one. She wants to protect her family of friends but she gradually realizes evil must be fought, not ignored. To gain knowledge of other sorcerers who must die, she must first eat their heart (the only way to kill another sorcerer) and then she has access to their memories and knowledge. Jade is a strong sorceress, but because she didn't use it often for a long while, she is out of practice; and now with Samir (her ex) coming after her she must utilize her skills to help others thereby helping herself along the way.

An outstanding omnibus from start to finish! I am already eagerly waiting for Volume 2 to come out so I can sit back and enjoy reading this story line. There is something for everyone in these stories; young and older will enjoy this Volume tremendously. I know I did!

Book Blurb for The Twenty-Sided Sorceress Volume 1

An omnibus of the first four books in the USA TODAY bestselling fantasy series--collected together for the first time in one volume. Jade Crow is a sorceress hiding from the most powerful sorcerer in the world: her ex-boyfriend.

Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho, hiding from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers--her ex-boyfriend Samir. Yet when dark powers threaten her friends' lives, Jade must save them by using magic. But as soon as she does, her nemesis will find her and she won't be able to stand up against him when he comes.

This is the collection of the first four volumes: Justice Calling; Murder of Crows; Pack of Lies; and Hunting Season.

Night Owl Reviews Dec, 2016 5.00