The Hunt

The Hunt, #1

I was blown away from the first chapter all the way to the end. Very tight thinking in how the characters are set and how society rules are established! This book explained every rule, every reason for why a person (or vampire) did something. Mr. Fukuda did an excellent job turning the world of vampirism upside down. Wonderful descriptions, great imagination, if you love vampire worlds, then read this book. You will not want to put this one down! This novel kept me guessing from the beginning. I only had a few moments where I was able to figure out some of the characters. There were some rules (and stories) which I had questions, leaving me to suspect there will be more novels regarding this series.

As a reader, the worst moment to occur in a new book is realizing it’s a dull story; the next worst moment in a book is the tingly sensation a reader gets when a good book ends while knowing there is a possibility of another book in the series coming. I’m glad to say Mr. Fukuda’s book is novel, and I’m hoping there is another book soon to come.


Book Blurb for The Hunt

Don’t Sweat.  Don’t Laugh.  Don’t draw attention to yourself.  And most of all, whatever you do, do not fall in love with one of them.

Gene is different from everyone else around him.  He can’t run with lightning speed, sunlight doesn’t hurt him and he doesn’t have an unquenchable lust for blood.  Gene is a human, and he knows the rules.  Keep the truth a secret.  It’s the only way to stay alive in a world of night—a world where humans are considered a delicacy and hunted for their blood.

When he’s chosen for a once in a lifetime opportunity to hunt the last remaining humans, Gene’s carefully constructed life begins to crumble around him.  He’s thrust into the path of a girl who makes him feel things he never thought possible—and into a ruthless pack of hunters whose suspicions about his true nature are growing. Now that Gene has finally found something worth fighting for, his need to survive is stronger than ever—but is it worth the cost of his humanity?For the first time in paperback, Andrew Fukuda's The Hunt is the opening book in a stunning, standout YA series that's perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.


Night Owl Reviews May, 2012 5.00