The Duke of Andelot

Buy Now

The Duke of Andelot

School of Gallantry, #7

The Duke of Andelot is the seventh book in Delilah Marvelle’s wildly popular School of Gallantry series. I would consider this the origins book to the series because it explains what events took place before the opening of Madame de Maitenon’s school and how Therese became the famous courtesan.

Delilah doesn’t write your Grandma’s historical romance novels. Her books are hot, her storylines are edgy, and she always incorporates a historical note to bring interesting accuracy to the pages. In the Duke, she found a historical connection between the Marquis de Sade and the French revolution and ran with it. If you know anything about the Marquis de Sade, then you have just a hint to the kind of book you have your hands on. Enjoy.

My only regret is that now all the students from the School of Gallantry class have found their happily-ever-afters. I hope this is not the end of the series but just the beginning of a new class of students.


Book Blurb for The Duke of Andelot

For fans of The Scarlet Pimpernel and Tom Jones comes a twisted, sexy tale that takes the French Revolution to smoldering new heights.

Long before becoming the flamboyant courtesan known to men as Madame de Maitenon, Thérèse Angelique Bouchard, dreamed of becoming an actress capable of commanding not only the stage but all of Paris. Until she meets an extraordinary aristocratic gentleman who sweeps her into his arms and the danger of his life, while offering her the sort of wealth she never imagined. What starts off as a seductive alliance, ends in her giving him the one thing she, as a mere bourgeoisie, cannot afford to give: her love.

After the murder of his older brothers, Gérard Antoine Tolbert, becomes the last heir to the powerful dukedom of Andelot, leaving him to fight for not only his life, but the allegiance he holds for the crown. During the final rise of the French Revolution that whispers of the violent change about to shake the entire country, Gérard meets an aspiring actress who entices him into wanting more out of not only himself but life. In trying to protect her from their overly passionate alliance and those that want him dead, he must decide what matters most: his life or his heart.

WARNING: This book contains strong language and sexual content that respectable people may deem offensive to their good character.


Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2015 4.00