Master of the Highlands

Buy Now

Master of the Highlands

304pp

This is the debut novel from newcomer Veronica Wolff and oh what a first novel it is. Mrs. Wolff has weaved a beautiful and poignant story, and I see her going very far in the romance world if all of her books are as good as this one!

Lily Hamlin thought she had her life planned out to the fullest, but when things started to unravel and with the death of her beloved grandmother suddenly Lily finds herself doubting everything she thought she knew and wanted about her life. Full of regrets and needing to get away for a while to clear her head and think she travels to the place her grandmother always wanted to return to back to Scotland. Little did she realize that a brisk walk would lead to her finding a mysterious maze whose labyrinth sends her hurtling through time back to 16th century Scotland, and right in the path of a charging Highland laird! Ewen Cameron had never seen the like of a woman such as the one that suddenly appeared before him with her light blonde hair flying in the wind the lass fairly took his breath away. With her wild story of being in a maze and then suddenly waking up to find herself in what she claims is now the distant past he would think her totally daft were it not for the fact that his "adopted" brother Robbie was found years before claiming the same thing had happened to him. From the start there is a spark that can't be denied between the two but will the vast differences of their lives and times make for a chiasm that the two of them can't breech? Or will they find that love can build a bridge between their lonely hearts that exceeds even time and space itself?

Finely written and characters that touch the heart and make you long to be back in the past with them. This is one that if you enjoy a good time travel romance or just a Scottish romance in general you can't afford to miss!


Book Blurb for Master of the Highlands

A modern woman finds true love across the ocean-and across time. A fabulous debut for fans of Diana Gabaldon and Karen Marie Moning Lily Hamlin is making a pilgrimage to Scotland with hopes for some direction in her life. There she discovers an overgrown maze and a strange stone map-and lands back in time, in the Lochaber of 1654. Ewen, Chief of the Clan Cameron, must save his people from the brutal redcoats. But then he meets a saucy lass with a peculiar accent, no regard for his title-and an arousing body. Drawn to each other despite their differences, they both realize that they don't want her to go back to her own time. But with battles brewing, staying is a gamble.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2008 4.25