Eggs in Purgatory

Buy Now

Eggs in Purgatory

Cackleberry Club Series #1

Suzanne Dietz, is a recent widow and a very sweet woman. Along with her two best friends, Toni and Petra they open up the Cackleberry Club. Which is a café, complete with a cute little book nook and a knitting corner, in the little town of Kindred, Tennessee. The café has excellent food from scrumptious scones to tasty teas, but what they are known for is their extraordinary egg dishes.

Kindred is a small town and the people there feel safe, until the day Bobby Waite, Suzanne’s attorney is found murdered, out behind the Cackleberry Club. Now that is just the beginning of the terrifying turmoil this quaint town has coming. Right smack dab in the middle of all this is Suzanne, who desperately wants to find out how Bobby’s murder, a scandal involving her late husband, Walter, and a young woman in need, are all tied together. Will Suzanne be able to find the common thread between them all and crack the case wide open? Or will she end up scrambled eggs, if the killer finds her hot on their trail?

"Eggs in Purgatory" is the first in the Cackleberry Club mysteries and is in a class all by itself! As you read this magnificent mystery, you will meet some very interesting people, whom you will long to know more about and could very well live down your very own street! The mystery part of the book is indeed a true mystery to the reader till the very end. Laura Childs keeps you on the edge of your seat as you try and solve the mystery right along with Suzanne.

Mrs. Childs is a master chef at writing culinary mysteries! "Eggs in Purgatory" is just one of her many great books and is filled with many delicious recipes that you will want to make really soon! After reading it, I am sure you will want to pick-up one of her Tea Shop or Scrapbooking mysteries and enjoy all the tempting recipes that are included in those savory series as well!

Reviewer, Janean Sparks

Book Blurb for Eggs in Purgatory

Now Laura Childs is cracking a whole new case of murder in a brand new series-RECIPES INCLUDED.

Introducing the Cackleberry Club Mysteries...

Suzanne, Toni, and Petra lose their husbands but find independence when they open the Cackleberry Club. Then their cozy cafe becomes the scene of a crime when a lawyer dies with a secret on his lips and egg on his face. What this all has to do with a religious cult and Suzanne's past could put her own life on the line.

Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2009 5.00