The Eighth Witch

Buy Now

The Eighth Witch

Department 18, #3

When I first picked up The Eighth Witch, I wasn’t sure what to expect. What I got was a grand adventure, written in a very fast paced, exciting style that brings several characters together in a truly terrifying novel full of thrills, chills, and plenty of heart and soul. The characters are dynamic and totally believable, and the story is chilling in its telling. Having read Nightmare City by the same author, I was not surprised to find it a vast story, full of intrigue and horror, with just enough humanity scattered in to make the story utterly touching and still terrifying all at once. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel, and look forward to many more novels such as this in the future.

When mysterious deaths begin plaguing the town of Ravensbridge, England, no one connects the deaths except Annie Ryder. When Annie calls her friend Robert Carter for a vacation, he arrives, only to be unwittingly launched into the investigation. He expects to find a simple excuse, but with his background in paranormal investigations, in not surprised when the cause becomes somewhat more sinister. When the team (Robert, Annie, and others), invade the town to solve the case, people start disappearing, bodies start turning up, and the only connection between them all is Diana Yardley, the eighth witch in a long line of witches. Diana is hell-bent on resurrecting her ancestors to harness their powers, and will stop at nothing to obtain her desires. Can Robert find a way to stop her and save three innocent lives from her ruthless slaughter? Grab the novel and read on to discover the case of The Eighth Witch, in all its’ beauty and horror.

Book Blurb for The Eighth Witch

Four centuries ago witch hunters killed the seven Yardley sisters. Now Department 18 must battle…the eighth witch!

Four hundred years ago six of the seven Yardley sisters—all witches—were systematically hunted down and killed. The seventh lived long enough to give birth to a daughter. Now, centuries later, that daughter has resurfaced in the town of Ravensbridge, more powerful than her mother or aunts ever were. She has honed her powers, can change shape at will, and has only one ambition—to bring her family back from the dead to seek vengeance against the descendants of all who slaughtered them. Ravensbridge once lived in fear of the seven Yardley sisters, but they have yet to experience the terror of…the Eighth Witch.

Night Owl Reviews Aug, 2012 4.50