The Boleyn Deceit

Buy Now

The Boleyn Deceit

Anne Boleyn Trilogy, #2

I have to say that I rather enjoyed the imagination of author Laura Anderson. It’s unique in its own aspect, but I couldn't quite grasp the fictional world of such an imagination. The era of King Henry VII and of Anne Boleyn has captured the attention of many passing generations and while I have personally never been a fan of the Tudor history of such told stories, I did find The Boleyn Deceit to be entertaining.

The Boleyn Deceit is book two of the series with The Boleyn King being the first book of the trilogy. The Boleyn Deceit takes place almost immediately where the first book left off. So it’s imperative that The Boleyn King be read first. Otherwise you may find yourself lost.

Anderson has created a world of myth and reality within the first two books of her series and while some historical facts have remained, many are that of pure imagination. What makes this novel interesting is the concept of what would have happened had Henry VII and Anne Boleyn had a child, a son that was later crowned as King of England. Both novels tell the tales of such a king named Henry IX or William as he is known.

The Boleyn Deceit covers the aspects of William's life on the throne of England. It tells the tales of love, of war, betrayal and that of trust.

I don't believe that Anderson compares to Philippa Gregory other than the fact that both authors combine fiction to historical events. I am a huge fan of Gregory's work, but I found myself struggling to proclaim the same about Anderson. With that being said Anderson is a wonderful writer and I believe her to be highly intelligent and gifted with the written word. Perhaps if I were a fan of the Tudor history I would have found the books to be a much better read. The titles are no means a horrific read but I think being a fan of such history is key to liking The Boleyn Deceit.


Book Blurb for The Boleyn Deceit

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, who must navigate a terrain rife with palace intrigue, impending war, and unbridled passions.

The regency period is over and William Tudor, now King Henry IX, sits alone on the throne. But England must still contend with those who doubt his legitimacy, both in faraway lands and within his own family. To diffuse tensions and appease the Catholics, William is betrothed to a young princess from France, but still he has eyes for only his childhood friend Minuette, and court tongues are wagging. 

Even more scandalous—and dangerous, if discovered—is that Minuette’s heart and soul belong to Dominic, William’s best friend and trusted advisor. Minuette must walk a delicate balance between her two suitors, unable to confide in anyone, not even her friend Elizabeth, William’s sister, who must contend with her own cleaved heart. In this irresistible tale, the secrets that everyone keeps are enough to change the course of an empire.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2014 3.50