Confessions of Marie Antoinette

Buy Now

Confessions of Marie Antoinette

Marie Antoinette Trilogy, #3

Author Juliet Grey awakens the reincarnation that is the tragedy of Marie Antoinette's life with heart and soul!

I think I can admit without shame that I have read most of the novels that have been published regarding the life of Marie Antoinette, but I have never been enchanted until I read this novel! In the modern world I believe everyone has an opinion on the life and brutal execution of France's ill-fated queen. What I enjoyed most while reading was the simple fact that Ms. Grey chose to pen the novel almost as if it were a diary from Marie herself. I think this detail alone was enough to allure me into the written words. I loved how well Ms. Grey enlightened the accounts of history and told a new version of an old tale known throughout the world with such a unique and fresh take.

This allowed for the novel to bring Marie Antoinette to life and allow for readers to see who she truly was. A mother, wife and a queen. A young girl at heart. In a world where there has been countless films, novels and even plays about Antoinette, Ms. Grey's novel stands alone. Enriching and beautiful the novel has become one of my favorites!

As the third installment of the series entitled Marie Antoinette. I would highly suggest reading the first two novels of the series so that it is easy to remain caught up throughout the series. Ms. Grey brings to life such a remarkable novel that it will carry on with me and I will always treasure such a read!


Book Blurb for Confessions of Marie Antoinette

A novel for fans of Philippa Gregory and Michelle Moran, Confessions of Marie Antoinette blends rich historical detail with searing drama, bringing to life the first years of the French Revolution and the final days of the legendary French queen. 

Versailles, 1789. As the burgeoning rebellion reaches the palace gates, Marie Antoinette finds her privileged and peaceful life swiftly upended by violence. Once her loyal subjects, the people of France now seek to overthrow the crown, placing the heirs of the Bourbon dynasty in mortal peril.

Displaced to the Tuileries Palace in Paris, the royal family is propelled into the heart of the Revolution. There, despite a few staunch allies, they are surrounded by cunning spies and vicious enemies. Yet despite the political and personal threats against her, Marie Antoinette remains, above all, a devoted wife and mother, standing steadfastly by her husband, Louis XVI, and protecting their young son and daughter. And though the queen secretly attempts to arrange her family’s rescue from the clutches of the rebels, she finds that they can neither outrun the dangers encircling them nor escape their shocking fate.


Night Owl Reviews Oct, 2013 4.00