A Deadly Thaw

Buy Now

A Deadly Thaw

Inspector Francis Sadler, #2

This second book in the Inspector Francis Sadler mysteries is intricate and intriguing.

Lena Fisher was convicted of killing her husband, Andrew, back in 2004. But, now, in 2016, the discovery of a man’s body, eventually identified as Andrew's, beyond a shadow of doubt, shakes the pathologist and investigators to the core. How could they have made such a huge blunder? And if Andrew was not the man Lena killed, then who was he and why did Lena keep quiet about his real identity?

What an interesting set up. Sadler, Palmer and Connie have their hands full with this one, as the case loops back to 2004 and back again to 2016 in alternate turns.

I love British mysteries, and so have certain criteria I’ve come to expect from them. Ward does an amazing job at creating that atmosphere I love so much about the genre, but adds a very fresh and modern twist to it, which is nice to see.

My only complaint was that the story sagged in a few places, losing momentum, and some of the details were a little hard to accept. But overall, this is a nice, atmospheric and twisty murder mystery and I think this second outing will help solidify Ward as a major contender in the British Mystery category.

It is not absolutely necessary to read the first installment, but of course I highly recommend it and believe it will only enhance your enjoyment of this book.

Overall, I recommend this one to all mystery lovers, but especially to those who enjoy the uniquely British version of crime solving.


Book Blurb for A Deadly Thaw

Lena Grey is found guilty of murdering her husband, who was found smothered in their bed. She offers no defense, and serves fourteen long years in prison. But within months of her release nearly two decades later, his body is found in a disused morgue, recently killed. Who was the man she killed before, and why did she lie about his identity?

Detective Inspector Francis Sadler and his Derbyshire team try to discover how such a well-orchestrated deception could have occurred. DC Connie Childs is convinced that something greater than marital strife caused the murders, but before Lena can be questioned further, she vanishes. Back in Lena’s childhood home, her sister Kat, a therapist, is shocked by her sister’s duplicity. When she begins to receive mysterious packages from a young man claiming to know her sister’s location, Kat is drawn into her own investigation of her family’s well-hidden secrets. As her inquiries begin to collide with the murder investigation, a link to the sisters’ teenage lives emerges, and the line between victim and perpetrator becomes blurred in this tightly-plotted, compelling novel perfect for fans of Deborah Crombie and Sharon Bolton.


Night Owl Reviews Nov, 2016 4.00