The Conspiracy of Us

I don't know where to start on this one. It was up in the air for me, at points I really loved this one and at points I was left feeling confused and other points I felt like this story shouldn't end to feeling like it couldn't get over quick enough. I was eventually left with a feeling of deja vu in the end. Like I had read something like this before or even saw this as a movie a long time ago.

As I started to read this, it felt like it was going to be a contemporary romance. The whole story felt like it kind of dragged at the beginning, and then it started to feel rushed. The transition from going from high school to this whole world of secrets and power was being rushed.

However, this story did have some pretty great aspects. I really loved the whole secret society type thing going on. About the power and greed of the twelve families. Stellan and Jack were some pretty great characters and Avery was a pretty strong individual who is put through hell and back. This is also left wide open for a sequel, which I hope will eventually answer quite a few unanswered questions from this book.


Book Blurb for The Conspiracy of Us

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2015 3.75