Pieces of My Sister's Life

Buy Now

Pieces of My Sister's Life

Pieces of My Sister's Life is the debut novel by Elizabeth Joy Arnold. What a start! The fascinating story of twins Kerry and Eve Barnard, told in the first person by Kerry, unfolds over the years to reveal two young girls and their incredible bond. After their mother mysteriously disappears when they are young children, they move to Block Island with their dad. They become close friends with next-door neighbor, Justin Caine, who plays an integral part in their lives.

Kerry and Eve fight to stay together after their father's tragic death when they are sixteen. Rebelling against their grandparents who come to stay with them, the twins are allowed to live alone in their own home under the watchful eye of Justin's parents. As the teenagers work part time, continue to attend high school, and struggle to survive, the differences between them become exposed and their relationship begins to unravel. A series of incidents the summer of their seventeenth year shatters their existence and changes the course of their lives forever.

Now, thirteen years later, the girls are reunited. As they work to put the broken pieces of their relationship back together, the past comes back to haunt them, threatening to destroy the fragile truce.

Arnold takes us on an incredible journey alternating between the past and present, weaving an intricate story of love, loss, pain, and separation. The many threads of this complicated story are brought together in an unexpected and emotional end.

Pieces of My Sister's Love proves to be an amazing journey of two sisters, their best friend Justin, and the resident's of a small island town. Their story will keep you mesmerized long into the night.

Book Blurb for Pieces of My Sister's Life

Two sisters who shared everything. One unforgivable moment. And a second chance…There’s something to talk about in every chapter of Elizabeth Joy Arnold’s poignant, insightful debut novel—the perfect summer read for all those who loved Elisabeth Robinson’s The True and Outstanding Adventures of the Hunt Sisters, Judy Blume’s Summer Sisters, and Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper. Once, Kerry and Eve Barnard did everything together: sailing the Block Island harbor with their father, listening to their neighbor Justin’s magical fairy tales, and all the while longing for their absent mother. They were twin girls arm in arm, secrets entwined between two hearts. Until the summer of their seventeenth birthday, when their extraordinary bond was shattered. And thirteen years later, it will take all the courage they can summon to put the pieces back together—at a time when it matters most.…

Night Owl Reviews Sep, 2007 5.00