The Sweetest Burn

Buy Now

The Sweetest Burn

Broken Destiny, #2

“The Sweetest Burn” by Jeaniene Frost was a little confusing to me at first because it’s been so long since I read the first story in the series, so I strongly suggest reading “The Beautiful Ashes” first. I don’t remember the connections between some of the characters but I was still charmed by the interaction between Ivy and Brutus the gargoyle, whose disguise as a seagull undoubtedly causes bystanders to be quite confused, at least until his true appearance is revealed. Ivy’s muttered threats to him had me laughing, especially when I pictured them being directed at such an enormous being as if she was scolding a large dog. There are multiple complicated relationships, with murky allegiances, that threaten to sabotage any progress and those got a bit confusing for me. I like the way religious artifacts play such a major role in the struggle against evil, but it would be nice to have a smoother transition and more background as I felt like I was reading about a treasure hunt with a comic book feel because these folks seemed to shift from location to location with a major fight and an endless supply of demons at each site but not much resolution or emotional depth. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the imaginative elements such as Ivy’s tattoo(s) and the fascinating exotic locales that are depicted.

Those who are squeamish should be advised there is plenty of death and violence throughout the story, but seeing Ivy kick butt and deal with the challenges and multiple monsters she faces is entertaining. The heat between the main characters only continues to escalate, and one can’t help but root for them to have a successful relationship, but of course their lives are disrupted even more by the surprising twists of this story. I think that fans of sexy and determined folks involved in a massive struggle between good and evil will enjoy this story. And of course…who could resist Brutus the gargoyle?

This urban fantasy book is part of the ‘Broken Destiny’ series and follows Ivy, the last descendant of King David, and her ex, Adrian, the half demon who is the last descendant of Judas and ostensibly destined to be the cause of Ivy’s death. Adrian is determined to find his way back into Ivy’s good graces and protect her while she searches for the staff of Moses and tries to learn how to use her powers. Given the myriad of enemies they both have, the sooner they solve the clues they are finding, the greater the chance of saving themselves and their allies. Unfortunately, they are rapidly running out of time and allies, and the prophecy may end up being correct after all.

Book Blurb for The Sweetest Burn

The breathtaking second novel in New York Times bestselling author Jeaniene Frost's Broken Destiny series finds Ivy and Adrian rekindling their alliance—and passion—as the struggle for the fate of the world begins… 

Conquering a supernatural realm turned out to be easier than getting over a broken heart. But her initial victory has made Ivy a target for revenge, forcing her to reunite with the dangerous—and dangerously sexy—Adrian. Ivy isn't sure which will be harder: finding the hallowed weapon that will repair the crumbling walls between the demon and human realms, or resisting Adrian, who's decided that come hell or high water, he will make Ivy his. 

At first, Adrian tried to resist his feelings for Ivy. Now, determined to break the curse that dooms their love, he's vowed to save her and to have her. If only he can persuade her to forgive his past sins. But defying destiny—and surrendering to the smoldering desire between them—will bring consequences and sacrifices they never imagined…

Night Owl Reviews Jun, 2017 4.00