Buy Now


A Section Eight Novel

This gritty romantic suspense tale with paranormal elements is the start of a new series featuring a group of men and women whose horrific experiences have not quenched their spirits although their faith and trust in those around them has been tarnished. Each has feelings of betrayal that must be addressed or overcome for them to learn how to function together but the surprising twists and turns that accompany their discoveries make it difficult to determine who to trust. There is a dark tone to this tale that shades everything that happens but the characters introduced are compelling and definitely warriors who must circumvent the villains who seek to destroy them but they all have to be able to overcome the demons from their respective pasts. This was an impressive start to an intriguing series filled with somber overtones and fascinating and complicated characters.

“Surrender” by Stephanie Tyler is the first novel in the ‘Section 8’ series that centers around the shadowy members of a very elite group of operatives. The original members have been winnowed down and their families have also been targeted. Dare O’Rourke has been looking for his missing father who is believed to have been killed in action. An unexpected revelation by one of the remaining members of Section 8 leads the tormented survivor of his own SEAL service on a search for his half-sister, Avery and he is startled to also find the daughter of another Section 8 member who has her own issues. Each of the tormented siblings finds a way to recruit others into the search to determine who wants all remnants of Section 8 erased but the helpers may be just as much of a risk as the pursuit itself and the net that seems to be closing around them indicates betrayal by someone close to them. The powers that they can mobilize include some that are almost too amazing to be believed but they have to find a way to integrate with each other if they are going to survive the crucible that they all have to undergo.

Book Blurb for Surrender

Desperate, fearless, and hunted

For former Navy SEAL Dare O’Rourke, Section 8 was legendary. The son of one of its missing members, he grew up in the shadow of its secrets. All he knew was that it was a cabal of operatives discharged from branches of the military and reassigned to extremely dangerous, off-the-books international missions. And that their handler was as shrouded in mystery as the missions themselves.

Nothing can stop them. Nothing can break them.

Now the handler of Section 8 has given extreme orders to kill any remaining members, along with their families. Dare must save his long-lost half sister, Avery, whom he was never meant to meet. Determined to fight for their lives and find their missing father, Dare and Avery bring together those who are in danger because of their relationship to Section 8 for one last mission—to avenge their families and to survive.

Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2013 4.00