Rising Darkness

Buy Now

Rising Darkness

A Game of Shadows Novel, #1

A somewhat dark paranormal tale filled with an intriguing combination of alien beings, extraordinary powers and a significant link to human history. The gradual revelation of Mary Byrne’s background is accompanied by a fair amount of violence and upheaval and flashbacks provide snippets of the impact on human history and key events exerted by a group of beings engaged in a momentous struggle. The relationship between Michael and Mary is a little hard to accept at this time but the scenes between them are definitely dramatic and engaging and one hopes that they will continue to be featured in future stories. The story is somewhat choppy as so many elements are alluded to and it was difficult to establish a rapport with the primary characters but the groundwork has been laid for an exciting series peopled with complex characters and I look forward to reading the next episode.

“Rising Darkness” by Thea Harrison is the first volume in a new paranormal series and introduces Doctor Mary Byrne as she discovers that the unusual dreams she has had throughout her life have a frightening source. Violence explodes around her as her mind begins to unlock uncanny mysteries and she must discover who her allies and enemies are even as she tries to comprehend the magnitude of the good versus evil struggle that she is evidently a key player in. The enigmatic yet very capable Michael

inserts himself into her life and is determined to make her aware of incredible facts that seem too fantastical to be believed but she cannot deny the odd occurrences around her. When another being claims that Michael is not who he seems, she has to decide who to believe based on very limited information. The problem is that her very existence probably depends on her making the right choice.

Book Blurb for Rising Darkness

USA Today bestselling author Thea Harrison begins an all-new, darkly romantic paranormal saga, in which the fate of existence itself lies in the balance—and the key to victory may rest in the hands of two eternal lovers…

In the hospital ER where she works, Mary is used to chaos. But lately, every aspect of her life seems adrift. She’s feeling disconnected from herself. Voices appear in her head. And the vivid, disturbing dreams she’s had all her life are becoming more intense. Then she meets Michael. He’s handsome, enigmatic and knows more than he can say. In his company, she slowly remembers the truth about herself…

Thousands of years ago, there were eight of them. The one called the Deceiver came to destroy the world, and the other seven followed to stop him. Reincarnated over and over, they carry on—and Mary finds herself drawn into the battle once again. And the more she learns, the more she realizes that Michael will go to any lengths to destroy the Deceiver.

Then she remembers who killed her during her last life, nine hundred years ago…Michael.

Night Owl Reviews May, 2013 4.00