Night Seeker

Buy Now

Night Seeker

An Indigo Court Novel, #3

“Night Seeker” by Yasmine Galenorn is the third in her five book series, ‘The Indigo Court’ which features Cicely Waters as she learns more and more about her heritage and her role and responsibilities to the various factions in her world. This gritty tale focuses on the twenty-six year old woman who has returned to her town of New Forest in the state of Washington only to discover that the Indigo Court of vampiric Fae led by Myst, the mistress of Winter, is terrorizing the town. Cicely already knew that she was a witch who was able to hear messages on the wind with the assistance of the Elemental, Ulean but she is discovering that she has far more powers than she ever dreamed due to her mixed heritage. Her life is complicated by the lover that she has been tied to over several incarnations, Grieve, who has been corrupted by Myst so that he is not necessarily the Fae prince of the Court of Rivers and Rushes that she has always loved. The sadistic vampire Lannan Altos seeks to usurp Cicely’s bond to her lover and force her to accept his sexual advances even as she is obligated to provide him with a tithe of her blood regularly. Unlikely allies are needed, including the Uwilahsidhe (owl shifter), Wilding Fae, Crimson Court vampires and the feared Consortium as well as yummanii (humans who are magic users). Cicely must find a way to reconcile all of the opposing factions into a weapon strong enough to withstand the Indigo Court and win her lover Grieve back to her side before all is lost forever.

This richly inventive series is full of dark characters who face difficult and sometimes virtually impossible decisions. Cicely is not quite to my tastes with her constant conflict over who she is attracted to and the constant sexual harassment that she undergoes from Lannan is an uncomfortable read for me. There are very creative quests and fascinating characters who are gradually being given more depth as the series continues but I think it would be somewhat difficult to read this as a stand-alone book therefore it is recommended that someone new to the series start with the first book, “Night Myst”.

Book Blurb for Night Seeker

Eons ago, vampires tried to turn the dark Fae to harness their magic, only to create a demonic enemy more powerful than they could have imagined. Now, the Vampiric Fae are on the move, hunting anyone in their path. As the war with the vampires ratchets up, Myst, Queen of the Indigo Court, enshrouds New Forest in her chilling grasp.

Cicely Waters, owl shifter and Wind Witch, has rescued the Fae Prince Grieve at a great cost. Their reunion has lost them the allegiance of the Summer Queen-and the tolerance of the vampires. In desperation they turn to the Consortium for help. Now, to regain the good will of Lainule, they must dare to enter the heart of Myst's realm. But as Cicely and Grieve embark on their search for the heartstone of Summer, Winter is already wreaking her terrifying revenge.

Night Owl Reviews Jun, 2012 3.50