Midnight Secrets

Buy Now

Midnight Secrets

The Wildfire Series, #1

This was an entertaining romantic suspense tale that mixes the complications of small town life with a mystery that has significantly altered the lives of several of its inhabitants. The obvious psychological impact upon a set of pampered triplets who were orphaned in a single night is contrasted with the fortunes of the male who was ostracized because of his mother’s poor choices in life. The career choices of the sisters presages an intriguing continuation for the series and this particular story combines an attractive small town setting with the chilling murder mystery and escalating violence that threatens to engulf the inhabitants. It was entertaining being reminded of the efficiency of the small town grapevine and the propensity for casserole deliveries accompanied by gossip even as one is sensitized to the emotional conflicts experienced by the main characters who have been so scarred by their pasts. I look forward to reading more adventures and hopefully developing romances for the other two sisters.

“Midnight Secrets” by Ella Grace (aka Christy Reece) is the first title in the ‘Wildfire Secrets’ series and centers around Savannah Wilde as she reluctantly returns to the small town of Midnight Alabama to deal with family matters. She has many unhappy memories of the town where she and her sisters tragically lost their parents to violent deaths and she has never recovered from the betrayal dealt to her by Zach Tanner, formerly known as the town’s bad boy. Zach has matured after his stint in the service and is now the police chief but he also has complicated feelings for the woman he hurt so many years ago. Their emotional turmoil is exacerbated by the unexplained episodes that seem to center around Savannah and as her questions about her parents’ deaths multiply, so does the danger to her. Zach may be running out of time to discover just what he and Savannah mean to each other before it’s too late.

Book Blurb for Midnight Secrets

For fans of Cherry Adair and Karen Robards, a thrilling new romantic suspense novel from Ella Grace


On a hot southern night, with a storm on the horizon, a family is shattered. Three beautiful daughters—Savannah, Samantha, and Sabrina Wilde—go on with their lives, each significantly changed, as they bear the memory of the murder-suicide that killed their parents. For years, they have stayed away from Midnight, Alabama. Until Midnight calls them home.

Savannah is the first one back, when a grueling case in Nashville leads the young prosecutor to seek shelter in the quiet of the once grand Wilde mansion. But when she finds letters casting doubt on her family’s dark, shameful past, she realizes that peace in Midnight is a shallow façade and sinister secrets lurk beneath the surface. Zach Tanner, once the town’s bad boy, is now the new police chief and still has a wild hold over her. Zach can feel it, too, but he hurt Savannah once. As teenagers, they broke every rule together. Now it’s his job to keep her safe, even though he isn’t sure who her enemies are—or which ones might be his own.

Night Owl Reviews May, 2013 4.00