His Sinful Secret

Buy Now

His Sinful Secret

Notorious Bachelors Series, Book 3

His Sinful Secret by Emma Wildes is the third in the Notorious Bachelors trilogy, following Michael Hepburn, Marquess of Longhaven. Michael is the last unmarried partner of the close-knit trio who bonded during the war and literally owes his life to his two friends. His older brother was not so adept at escaping death’s clutches. Unexpectedly elevated to his brother’s position as heir, Michael struggles to assuage his parents’ grief by assuming all of his late brother’s responsibilities as Marquess, including agreeing to wed his brother’s bereaved fiancée. The difficulty lies in reconciling his previous life as an undercover agent and its ongoing responsibilities with the new complications of having an intimate companion who may need to become privy to his closely guarded secrets. Julianne Sutton has only known Michael superficially as the brother of the man she was supposed to be marrying. She is resigned to marrying Michael but dreams of developing a relationship with a husband that will allow them to share each other’s lives. The problem is that each of them has secrets that must be dealt with before they can find a way to nurture the burgeoning attraction that they feel for each other. Will love prevail or will the dangers that surround Michael’s life prove fatal?

With this book you get another enjoyable and sensual Regency romance but not quite up to the caliber of the previous two novels in the series. The strong sense of mystery surrounding the quarry that has been pursued through the past books in the series is not quite as intense and the solution is a little less than satisfying to me. Just as in the previous two books, there is a secondary romance depicted but the characters don’t quite gel as nicely as they do in the other books. Nonetheless, an entertaining addition to the series.

Night Owl Reviews Oct, 2010 4.00