Harvest Moon

Buy Now

Harvest Moon

Harvest Moon is a trilogy of paranormal stories set in very different worlds. Mercedes Lackey’s A Tangled Web continues the saga of Leopold and the warrior princess Brunnhilde, secondary characters introduced in her novel The Sleeping Beauty. The Tradition from the 500 Kingdoms intersects with mythological tales of Olympus as Lackey gives her spin on the tale of Persephone and Hades. A pseudo-kidnapping by Thanatos, ostensibly to facilitate the romance between Persephone and the god of the underworld embroils Leopold and Brunnhilde in the conflict when she is kidnapped by mistake and discovers that she has to comply with an entirely different pantheon and its rules in order to regain her freedom.

Cast in Moonlight by Michele Sagara introduces Kaylin Neya before the events of Cast In Secret as she is introduced to life across the bridge and discovers that the being that she has been sent to kill is the head of the organization known as the Hawks. The wonderfully disparate individuals comprising this law enforcement association include several different types of sentient predators who work as a cohesive unit to provide justice. Kaylin must learn to carve out her own niche within this complex network.

Retribution by Cameron Haley is a gritty tale of the difficulties of remaining in power when participating in an underworld organization that utilizes mundane weapons as well as arsenals of magical defenses and curses, ghosts, vengeful spirits.

This was a rather odd mixture of stories that are only very loosely related by the theme of the Harvest Moon. Michelle Sagara’s tale was most fascinating with its intriguing characters that reminded me how much I enjoyed this series and the fascinating personalities that were inherent in the types of beings that comprise the organization that Kaylin joins. Mercedes Lackey has a nice twist on the tale that usually depicts Persephone as an unwilling part-time inhabitant of Hades while Cameron Haley’s story gives new meaning to the concept of a shady underworld organization.

Book Blurb for Harvest Moon

Harvest Moon contains three novellas by authors Mercedes Lackey, Michelle Sagara, Cameron Haley. It is currently scheduled for October 2010.

"A Tangled Web" by Mercedes Lackey

Kidnapping Persephone should have been an easy task. But in the Five Hundred Kingdoms, nothing's ever simple and the wrong blonde goddess is stolen by mistake, leaving Prince Leopold without his new bride. At least until he braves the realm of the dead to get her back...

"Cast in Moonlight" by Michelle Sagara

Barely a teenager, Kaylin Neya is a thief, a fugitive and an attempted assassin. She also has a smart mouth, sharp wits and mysterious markings on her skin. All of which make her perfect bait for a child prostitution sting in the city of Elantra - if she survives her first meeting with the Hawks!

"Retribution" by Cameron Haley

In the underworld, there are tricks to killing. Like executing rivals at crossroads so ghosts won't follow you home. But sometimes retribution is hard to avoid - and now a supernatural hit man has a contract on Domino Riley's life. Luckily she knows a thing or two about death...

Night Owl Reviews Aug, 2010 4.25