Of Flame and Promise

A Weird Girls Novel

“Of Flame and Promise” is an Absolutely Amazing book. I laughed, I cried, I felt their pain. It's one of the best books I have read. While this was my first book by Cecy it won't be my last.

Cecy's storyline and plot are so brilliant. I was grabbed from the start and wasn't let go until the end. Cecy has an amazing ability to pull you into the world she has created, she is very vibrant and descriptive and it was so easy to see and feel where Gemini and Taran were at. One thing I loved was the way the characters continued to open up into their complexities and to build upon them.

The way the complexities opened up It helped me to get a sense of how Taran felt and the especially continued to grow throughout the book even with all the various side-lines going on. I admire Cecy and her ability to keep everything growing and building.

I know I laughed and cried and felt the insecurities and internal debates within Taran. I wish I had read the previous books so I could know her sisters more and the curse that was placed upon them.

My favorite character was really hard to pick but also instinctive. I can relate so well with Taran's insecurities and how everything she does gets so screwed up and it's not like she doesn't feel bad about it. I just love her vim and vigor and how she says what she thinks no matter the consequences. But with everything going to hell in a hand truck Taran's heart is pure and she only wants to try to do her best always.

My second favorite is Gemini. Big, bad ass, strong and extremely smart. He treats Taran so well, with so much tenderness and love. I wish she could just come clean with him on her past. Gemini's care, love, protection and concern for Taran is his utmost forethought.

The secondary character that stood out for me was Celia. WOW her inter strength was unbelievable and amazing with all that was going on around her and having to do what was best for everyone else but herself.

There was conflict throughout the story. Conflict between Taran and Gemini; between Taran internally; in-between the demons and the baby demons, but it all worked and kept me going because I had to know what was next.

Cecy Robson is an amazing Author and I loved “Of Flames and Promise. You can't go wrong picking up a copy.

Happy Reading


Book Blurb for Of Flame and Promise

Perfect for fans of Keri Arthur and Bella Forrest, this short novel kicks off a sizzling new series in the award-winning Weird Girls saga as Celia’s sister Taran fights to have it all: independence, hot romance, and enough firepower to torch an army of blood-thirsty supernaturals.

Cursed by a spell meant to destroy them, Taran Wird and her sisters instead developed unique magical talents. With the power of fire and lightning literally at her fingertips, Taran doesn’t fear much. Demons, vamps, whatever—bring ’em on! Only one thing terrifies her: commitment.

Taran is crazy about her boyfriend, Gemini, a sexy were with the incredible ability to split into two separate wolves. But after watching her sister go through heartbreak with the pack’s Alpha, Taran knows not to count on happily ever after—despite Gemini’s desire to claim her as his mate. Reluctantly, she agrees to meet his very traditional and conservative parents. Taran’s a badass with a mouth to match, and Gemini loves her for it. She’s just not positive these attributes will please Mom and Dad.

Unsurprisingly, every attempt by Taran to bond with Gemini’s folks proves disastrous. But in the end, Taran finds that winning them over means unleashing her powers . . . and proving that this foul-mouthed fire-starter is a force to be reckoned with.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2016 5.00