The Truth About You

I have read a few other books by Susan Lewis before (No Child of Mine, etc) and I was not disappointed. When I saw this one I knew that I had to read it.

I do not think that it is part of a series, but it still fits in with Susan's writing style. It is a story about a family with issues. I do have to say that the author often uses adult situations that are overly described at times. The 50 Shades plot for instance. We should all know what that book is about by now, and I did not think it was necessary to explain it via a 16 year old. However I did like that these children are rebellious and they are not perfect. They have issues.

Tom is a cheater, in the past, present and more than likely in the future. I did not care for him at all. I was glad that he was left behind during the Italy trip.

Lainey was searching for answers. However I do not think that she wanted to hear them. There is a reason why some secrets should remain hidden.

I respected Lainey's mom and her decisions, but I felt as though she should have told her daughter the truth and helped her deal with it.

I am giving this book a 4/5.


Book Blurb for The Truth About You

For readers of Jodi Picoult, Heather Gudenkauf, and Elizabeth Flock comes a novel of secrets and suspense that challenges the ties that bind—while reigniting the hope of enduring love.

Lainey Hollingsworth is the anchor in her home. In addition to managing her husband’s writing career, she oversees the daily operations of a chaotic family: a rebellious teenage daughter, a stepson who blames her for ruining his life, and an adoptive father afflicted with Alzheimer’s.

Lainey always had a volatile relationship with her mother, who never revealed the truth about Lainey’s biological father, or the reason she fled Italy for England when Lainey was an infant.

As Lainey plans a trip to her mother’s homeland in search of answers, the familiar rhythm of life implodes when she receives a cryptic text message: Ask your husband about Julia. Suddenly caught between the ghosts of her past and a frighteningly unpredictable future, Lainey must face choices no woman would ever want to make.


Night Owl Reviews Jan, 2014 4.00