The Sister Queens

Buy Now

The Sister Queens

Marguerite must leave her family and home at the Court of Provence to marry Louis IX, becoming Queen of France. As the oldest, she has been trained to be patient, quiet, demure, and to be a good wife and queen. Her sister Eleanor hasn't always taken to the same training, striving to surpass her older sister. When married to Henry III, King of England, she hopes to achieve her goals. But while Henry loves Eleanor and is a good man, he is often times a failure as a king. Marguerite's husband, Louis, is considered a good king, but often times puts his overwhelming passion for God before his duties as husband and king. Will these two sisters find happiness in not only their marriages, but also their relationship as sisters?

I am always a fan of historical fiction, but had never read anything about these sisters or even really this time period. Sophie Perinot has done a wonderful job of bringing to life this tumultuous time, and making these characters dynamic and engaging. Fans of Philippa Gregory and Carolly Erickson will want to add this author to their collection. I can't wait to see who or when she covers next.


Book Blurb for The Sister Queens

Like most sisters, Marguerite and Eleanor were rivals.  They were also queens. 

Raised at the court of their father, Raymond Berenger, Count of Provence, Marguerite and Eleanor are separated by royal marriages--but never truly parted.

Patient, perfect, and used to being first, Marguerite becomes Queen of France. But Louis IX is a religious zealot who denies himself the love and companionship his wife craves. Can she borrow enough of her sister's boldness to grasp her chance for happiness in a forbidden love?

Passionate, strong-willed, and stubborn, Eleanor becomes Queen of England. Henry III is a good man, but not a good king. Can Eleanor stop competing with her sister and value what she has, or will she let it slip away?

The Sister Queens is historical fiction at its most compelling, and is an unforgettable first novel.


Night Owl Reviews Apr, 2012 4.00