The Passion of the Purple Plumeria

Buy Now

The Passion of the Purple Plumeria

A Pink Carnation Novel, #10

Colonel William Reid has retired back to England after a long career in India. He travels to Bath to visit with his youngest daughter, safely ensconced in a finishing school. To his shock and horror, his daughter is missing, along with a schoolmate, and has been gone for a number of days. Gwendolyn Meadows has returned to England with Jane Wooliston (otherwise known as the Pink Carnation) to track down Jane’s missing sister. Sparks fly almost instantly between Colonel Reid and Miss Meadows, leading to a tumultuous relationship during their adventure to track down the missing girls. Throw in missing jewels, turncoat spies, and a few sword wounds, and you have another rip-roaring Pink Carnation adventure.

Each new Pink Carnation book adds another delicious layer to this wonderfully penned flower-spy series. I especially enjoyed the interactions between Gwendolyn and Jane, the early creators of the Pink Carnation, and their views on their partnership. It’s also been nice watching the developing relationship between Eloise and Colin in the present day. The word play between Jeremy and Colin is always good for a laugh as well. This series continues to delight with each new book, and is a must read for fans of Bridget Jones’ Diary and Jane Austen alike.


Book Blurb for The Passion of the Purple Plumeria

Lauren Willig’s Pink Carnation novels have been hailed as ?sheer fun”* and ?charming.”** Now she takes readers on an adventure filled with hidden treasure and a devilishly handsome English colonel....

Colonel William Reid has returned home from India to retire near his children, who are safely stowed at an academy in Bath. Upon his return to the Isles, however, he finds that one of his daughters has vanished, along with one of her classmates.

Because she served as second-in-command to the Pink Carnation, one of England’s most intrepid spies, it would be impossible for Gwendolyn Meadows to give up the intrigue of Paris for a quiet life in the English countryside?especially when she’s just overheard news of an alliance forming between Napoleon and an Ottoman Sultan. But, when the Pink Carnation’s little sister goes missing from her English boarding school, Gwen reluctantly returns home to investigate the girl’s disappearance.

Thrown together by circumstance, Gwen and William must cooperate to track down the young ladies before others with nefarious intent get their hands on them. But Gwen’s partnership with quick-tongued, roguish William may prove to be even more of an adventure for her than finding the lost girls?.


Night Owl Reviews Sep, 2013 4.50