The King's Concubine

Buy Now

The King's Concubine

A Novel of Alice Perrers

As a huge fan of historical English fiction, I was intrigued to read about a time period that I knew little about. King Edward, his queen, and his concubine were brought to life in "The King's Concubine" by Anne O'Brien. Filled not only with characters that grabbed the reader's attention, this time period was also filled with conspiracies and schemes galore. During the end of Edward's reign, and especially afterwards, it seemed that everyone was determined to destroy Alice Perrers. The author did a wonderful job of bringing Alice Perrers to life, especially since what little history has left is mainly a few names on deeds and such. Fans of Carrolly Erickson and Philippa Gregory will want to add Anne O'Brien to their list of must have authors.

Alice Perrers was known as the concubine to King Edward, but how could this happen, considering that him and Queen Phillippa had a long and loving marriage for decades. What if she was brought to the king's attention, not through her scheming, but instead by the Queen herself. And, when this relatively unknown orphan rises to extreme heights, who will stand by her at the end, and who will be eager to help pull her down?


Book Blurb for The King's Concubine

England's Most Scandalous Mistress. One marriage. Three people. Proud king. Loving wife. Infamous mistress. 1362, Philippa of Hainault selects a young orphan from a convent. Alice Perrers, a girl born with nothing but ambition. The Queen has a role waiting for her at court. 'I have lifted you from nothing Alice. Now you repay me.' Led down the corridors of the royal palace the young virgin is secretly delivered to King Edward III - to perform the wifely duties of which ailing Philippa is no longer capable. Power has a price, and Alice Perrers will pay it. Mistress to the King. Confidante of the Queen. Whore to the court. Her fate is double edged; loved by the majesties, ostracised by her peers. Alice must balance her future with care as her star begins to rise - the despised Concubine is not untouchable. Politics and pillow talk are dangerous bedfellows. The fading great King wants her in his bed. Her enemies want her banished. One mistake and Alice will face a threat worse than any malicious whispers of the past.


Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2012 5.00