The Heir

Buy Now

The Heir

Book 1 of Windham Series Book 1 in The Duke's Obsession sub-series

Gayle Windham, Earl of Westhaven, must spend all his time rebuilding the family fortunes, watching out for his family and avoiding his father's tricks and wiles to get him married. Gayle is determined to avoid being leg-shackled until he is ready and finds the woman for him, so he decides to hide out in his London townhouse during the heat of summer. There he becomes interested in and intrigued by his new housekeeper, Anna Seaton. Anna is a beautiful, fascinating woman who seems to be hiding secrets of her own. Gayle is determined to find them out and make Anna his. But Gayle's family and Anna's past threaten to destroy this relationship before it even has a chance. Will Gayle be able to overcome his reluctance to marry, will Anna be able to trust Gayle with her secrets? Hot summer nights lead to a fiery and passionate conclusion.

"The Heir" by Grace Burrowes, a debut novel, is what promises to be a fun and rollicking romp of a new Regency series featuring fascinating brothers, beautiful and troubled women, and steamy passion. With tons of intrigue, searing seduction, and wonderful humor, Grace Burrowes' first book is a fun read that is a must read for fans of Georgette Heyer and Regency romances.


Book Blurb for The Heir

Award-winning debut author Grace Burrowes introduces a deeply engaging series of Regency romances

A debut novel by a rising star with remarkable characters, intriguing plots, and settings of fascinating historical accuracy. In this Regency era battle of wits, wills, and the sexes, a wily old duke is determined to see the succession of his line secured, and his three headstrong sons are equally determined to resist the bonds of matrimony. In The Heir, the first in the series, the Earl of Wyndham, weighed down by responsibilities and determined to avoid the rounds of country houses of and matchmaking mamas, decides to summer in London. There he discovers a potentially perfect duchess in his lovely, mysterious housekeeper...


Night Owl Reviews Dec, 2010 4.50