The Agincourt Bride

Buy Now

The Agincourt Bride

Guillamette, after losing her first child at birth, become a wet nurse for the children of Charles VI of France. His court is held by a regent, due to the king’s fits of madness, but with the lack of supervision, the royal children suffer. Mette finds herself becoming a protector of the young royals, at times with a cost to herself. A special bond between Mette and the princess Catherine results in Mette serving as a maid to the princess. Catherine de Valios, due to her position and beauty, becomes a pawn used by her mother, her brother the Daupin, and the Duke of Burgundy who has evil intentions of his own. Mette must walk a fine line between these different forces to help protect the beautiful French princess who has a place in her heart.

Joanna Hickson has made a name for herself in historical fiction with her first book, The Agincourt Bride. Weaving historical details with rich character development, she brought alive an under-examined figure whose life played an integral role in French and English history. Her book calls to mind those written by Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, so I will be looking forward to more books about Catherine and other interesting personages. This author has been added to my list of must read writers.


Book Blurb for The Agincourt Bride

The epic story of the queen who founded the Tudor dynasty, told through the eyes of her loyal nursemaid. Perfect for fans of Philipa Gregory.

Her beauty fuelled a war.

Her courage captured a king.

Her passion would launch the Tudor dynasty.

When her own first child is tragically still-born, the young Mette is pressed into service as a wet-nurse at the court of the mad king, Charles VI of France. Her young charge is the princess, Catherine de Valois, caught up in the turbulence and chaos of life at court.

Mette and the child forge a bond, one that transcends Mette’s lowly position.

But as Catherine approaches womanhood, her unique position seals her fate as a pawn between two powerful dynasties. Her brother, The Dauphin and the dark and sinister, Duke of Burgundy will both use Catherine to further the cause of France.

Catherine is powerless to stop them, but with the French defeat at the Battle of Agincourt, the tables turn and suddenly her currency has never been higher. But can Mette protect Catherine from forces at court who seek to harm her or will her loyalty to Catherine place her in even greater danger?


Night Owl Reviews Dec, 2014 5.00