Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders

Buy Now

Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders

The Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries, #5

Arthur Conan Doyle heads to a spa in Hamburg, Germany, determined to get some rest and sort through all of Sherlock Holmes' fan mail. But almost immediately upon arrival, he meets up with his friend, Oscar Wilde, who is never restful. The two discover a set of grisly clues in the mail consisting of a lock of hair, a finger, and a severed hand, with the trail leading to Rome. Oscar insists that they answer the call for help sent to that intrepid detective, Sherlock Holmes, and they quickly find themselves enmeshed in a mystery that centers around the Vatican. Wilde calls upon Sherlock's investigative techniques, hoping to solve this case before him or Doyle end up dead.

I am a newly come fan to the Wilde mysteries by Gyles Brandreth, but I'm a convert, through and through. Each one I've read has been a delight, mixing Wilde's many witty quips and sayings with Sherlock Holmes and his exasperated creator, Arthur Conan Doyle. Each one alludes to Oscar Wilde's future downfall, creating a sense of tragic foreboding, but as Wilde would want, but the novels are still entertaining and intriguing. Fans of Oscar Wilde, Sherlock Holmes, and historical mysteries will all enjoy these wonderful books.


Book Blurb for Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders

Oscar Wilde makes a triumphant return in the fifth novel in the critically acclaimed historical mystery series, featuring Wilde as the detective aided by his friend Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In 1892 an exhausted Arthur Conan Doyle retires to a spa in Germany with a suitcase of fan mail. The first person he encounters is Oscar Wilde, and when the two friends make a series of macabre discoveries among the letters—a finger, a lock of hair, and, finally, an entire severed hand.

The trail leads the intrepid duo to Rome, and then to a case that involves miracles as well as murder. To discover why they have been summoned to the Vatican in this sinister fashion, Wilde and Conan Doyle must uncover the deadly secrets of the six men closest to the pope.

In Gyles Brandreth’s Oscar Wilde and the Vatican Murders, Wilde’s powers as a detective are put to the test in his most compelling case yet.


Night Owl Reviews May, 2012 5.00