He's Gone

Wow what a thrill ride! I have really come to enjoy this type of mystery book and He's Gone does not disappoint.

After attending a party together Dani awakes to find Ian, her husband, missing. What follows is a very complex mystery and a very detailed look into marriage and the many ups and downs it can have especially when it includes an extended family. I personally was glued to the pages and could not wait to find out what happened to Ian. Deb Caletti has a wonderful way of making you feel what her characters are feeling. I wanted to jump into the story numerous times just to help Dani find out the truth and boy what a truth it was! I am still in shock over the ending.

If you are looking for an exciting thriller mystery then look no further. He's Gone is a wonderful blend between the two that I promise will have you on the edge of your seat.


Book Blurb for He's Gone

From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an intensely gripping story about love, loss, marriage, and secrets—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult, Kristin Hannah, and Anna Quindlen.

“What do you think happened to your husband, Mrs. Keller?”

The Sunday morning starts like any other, aside from the slight hangover. Dani Keller wakes up on her Seattle houseboat, a headache building behind her eyes from the wine she drank at a party the night before. But on this particular Sunday morning, she’s surprised to see that her husband, Ian, is not home. As the hours pass, Dani fills her day with small things. But still, Ian does not return. Irritation shifts to worry, worry slides almost imperceptibly into panic. And then, like a relentless blackness, the terrible realization hits Dani: He’s gone.

As the police work methodically through all the logical explanations—he’s hurt, he’s run off, he’s been killed—Dani searches frantically for a clue as to whether Ian is in fact dead or alive. And, slowly, she unpacks their relationship, holding each moment up to the light: from its intense, adulterous beginning, to the grandeur of their new love, to the difficulties of forever. She examines all the sins she can—and cannot—remember. As the days pass, Dani will plumb the depths of her conscience, turning over and revealing the darkest of her secrets in order to discover the hard truth—about herself, her husband, and their lives together.


Night Owl Reviews May, 2013 4.00