Wishing Day

Book 1

I wanted to love this book so much! But the story was just all over the place. Nothing really seemed to have an order and the story was just so confusing because of it. “Wishing Day” started out so charming with a premise that sounded so cute and interesting. But it just didn't work out. The characters seemed great. But the way the story was written made me feel like I was reading a plot line vs. a finished story. The ending was the same way with just way to much unanswered.


Book Blurb for Wishing Day

From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law.

On the third night of the third month after a girl’s thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes.

The first wish is an impossible wish.

The second is a wish she can make come true herself.

And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart.

Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she’s not sure she believes in it. She’s full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be . . . noticed.

So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined.


Night Owl Reviews May, 2016 3.00