The Swap

Buy Now

The Swap

Endy here with another review!

I haven't been reading many middle grade books this year as I’m outgrowing them. But this one worked out really well for me. My mom told me about some older movies called Freaky Friday and well I really love the story about switching lives with someone. It’s kind of like “walk a mile in my shoes and get to know the real me” scenario. Each character has a lot of issues to work through and this story makes them laugh out loud awesome.

This was a great book about self-discovery and growth. I can't wait to see what else the author writes. Even if its middle grade I’m sure I’ll be picking it up.


Book Blurb for The Swap

Coming soon as a Disney Channel Original Movie, Megan Shull’s smart and funny twist on Freaky Friday is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Jerry Spinelli, and Jon Scieszka!

With one random wish, Jack and Ellie are living life in each other’s shoes. He’s her. And she’s him. ELLIE assumed popular guys didn’t worry about body image, being perfect, or talking to girls, but acting like you’re cool with everything is tougher than it looks. JACK thought girls had it easy—no fights with bullies, no demanding dads, no power plays—but facing mean girls at sleepovers and getting grilled about your period is way harder than taking a hit to the face at sports practice.

Now they’re dealing with each other’s middle school dramas—locker room teasing, cliques, video game battles, bra shopping, and a slew of hilariously awkward moments—until they hopefully switch back! Told in both Jack’s and Ellie’s voices, The Swap offers a fresh and honest take on tween friendship, all while exploring more serious themes of family, loss, empathy, and what it really means to be yourself. And as Jon Scieszka says, it’s “seriously, truly, fearlessly funny!”


Night Owl Reviews Nov, 2016 4.00