The Smell of Other People's Houses

This was an awesome little book that will grab you from the moment you read the title. I haven't seen or read a lot of books that have the setting of Alaska so this was a nice change of pace. This one has multi POVS but don't worry you won't be lost and you will know who is speaking. The author did an amazing job with the characters. There is no real romance in this book but it is full of the feels. So it will appeal to a wider range of readers for this reason. This one also lays on its descriptions. Which were breathtaking. This book with its story and characters and setting will surprise you at every turn. I didn't think I was going to love it as much as I did. It’s a great story to pick up if you want a story with a great positive ending and that is short.


Book Blurb for The Smell of Other People's Houses

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.


Night Owl Reviews Mar, 2016 5.00