The Secret Sky

A Novel of Forbidden Love in Afghanistan

Atia Abawi’s The Secret Sky is well worth the read.

I really did love this book. I thought that parts of it were a little slow, but it is still worth the read. This would be a great book for High School kids as it gives a very good look at the hardships that people overseas go through. It would also be a great book for woman's rights classes as it shows how woman are treated. The Secret Sky has a split POV style between three POVs. It works out great.

I loved Fatima and Samiullah, but really hated Rashid. You could say that this book is a remake of Romeo and Juliet (don't worry not completely). As Fatima and Samiullah fall in love they struggle with not only their families but with their religion and traditions. They are in a time when they are not even allowed to hang out without a chaperone. It is just unbelievable for some. I had my almost 10 year old daughter read parts of this and she asked me if this was true and I told her yes. That if we lived there she wouldn't even be able to go to the park. It’s just so different from what we have grown up with here in the USA. The Secret Sky is a book that will make you open your eyes and think about how you live and how you treat people. It was a wonderfully moving story.

Go into this one knowing that there are the following themes. Freedom vs. Parental Abuse, Molestation, and Murder. The Secret Sky also has unfamiliar word usage, but there is a glossary in the back.


Book Blurb for The Secret Sky

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from veteran foreign news correspodent Atia Abawi

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan.

Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.


Night Owl Reviews Jul, 2014 4.50